Day 10: Vegan, No-Soy, Ketogenic Diet

Day 10: Saturday, Mar 31

Ketones: High (beginning of day), High (end of day)
Weight: 155.4 (91.3% lean)

General Conference! Today was General Conference, and it was amazing. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a biannual conference where leaders and prophets speak the will of God to the entire world. Today’s sessions of conference were awesome.

Ate: We hosted a pancake breakfast, and I didn’t want to feel left out… so I made a pancake. Protein powder, ground flax, MCT oil, cinnamon, vanilla, allspice, stevia, baking soda, and water to make a thick batter, then put it on a griddle. It didn’t cook extremely well. I had to turn it quickly because it was sort of strange, and smash it a bit, then just leave it there for a little while to finish cooking. Next time I’ll do a significantly thinner batter.

I ate the pancakes with guacamole, and it tasted pretty good.

For lunch, I had some more guacamole, this time with some sun-dried tomato pieces inside. Walking on the edge. But I love sun-dried tomatoes. I could eat them all day. I have. I went through a 5-lb bag in three days once. Wow.

Then I tried another experiment. Could I make carb-free hummus? Or something similar that I could tweak?

I took the protein powder, added some water, olive oil, salt, a clove of garlic, lemon juice, and sesame seeds, then blended it thoroughly. This is why I’m glad I have a high-end blender. Often useless, but nice for this. It’s close enough that I was thrilled. Not the real thing by a long shot… but close anyway. And I can always alter the recipe in hopes that it will get better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10: Vegan, No-Soy, Ketogenic Diet

  1. keighton wildreb says:

    Hahaha this series was really funny. Was this satire written for a website or did you do it just for fun. Where’s the rest of the narrative, are we to assume the “author” gets sick and dies in the cult or what?

  2. David says:

    It’s not satire. It’s totally real. I just stopped writing because I realized that there weren’t really many people reading, and because I ended up totally ruining the diet for a week with obligations at school.

    The end of the diet was actually pretty amazing. I stayed on it for 6 months and, by that time, it controlled my bipolar swings to about 1x every 3 months. I went off it when my little brother got leukemia and I got sick from stress and wasn’t getting better – this is not a diet that will give you the resources to fight illness. So I went back to just a no-soy vegan diet.

    The amazing part is that the positive benefits on my bipolar disorder have largely remained, even after ceasing the diet. Which means that 6 months was long enough to effect a meaningful change in brain chemistry. Pretty awesome.

    And, honestly, not at all satire. All of my blogs are passionate and unique) you can read gaymormonguy.blogspot.com for insight into that), but they’re also all totally sincere.

Leave a comment